Participants
Learn about conversation membership and participant settings.
A participant is a User that is a member of a Conversation.
Participants can get notifications of activity in a conversation and are listed in the conversation's member list.
All the conversations that a user is a participant of are shown in the conversation list of the Inbox, ordered by last activity.
To add or update a conversation's participants with JavaScript, use ParticipantRef.set.
To remove a participant, use ParticipantRef.delete.
Managing participants is also possible using the REST API.
You can control participant behaviour using the following fields:
Specifies the participant's access permission for a conversation.
| Option | Result |
|---|---|
"Read" | The participant is allowed to read messages in the converstion The participant is not allowed to post new messages The participant is listed in the header |
"ReadWrite" | The participant is allowed to read messages The participant is allowed to post new messages The participant is listed in the header |
"None" | The participant is not allowed to read messages The participant is not allowed to post new messages The participant is not listed in the header |
Access rights are described in more detail in the section on group chat access rights.
If the participant meets the condition to get a notification, the notify setting will be used to determine if notifications will be send.
When mentions are used, you can set it up, so that users will only receive a notification once they are mentioned.
| Option | Result |
|---|---|
true | The participant will receive notifications |
false | The participant will not receive notifications |
"MentionsOnly" | The participant will only receive notifications once they are mentioned in the conversation |
Takes selected settings from another role for this participant in this conversation. Currently, only contentMasking is supported:
1{2 "contentMasking": "no_masking"3}
This uses a no_masking role's content masking settings to control what this participant sees. You must create this role in the dashboard for the setting to have effect. Other settings still come from the participant's own role.
Set takeSettingsFromRole to null to clear all overrides.
For an example, see Controlling content masking.